Bathroom Facelift Part I

Total change of topic for the blog, but hey it’s been a few and things have happened and I promised a friend I would post this so here I am.

In August of last year David and I hit an adulthood milestone. Home ownership. Or as I like to call it Blissful Mounds Of Indebtedness. We looked at a lot of houses. We put offers in on a lot of houses. We waited for a lot of houses and we found the perfect house for us.

I’m someone who enjoys DIY projects and David loves it when I let him feel manly and work on our house so it’s been really fun to find projects to do to help improve the looks of our 1980’s home.

We have big plans for re-doing the only bathroom in our house in the future, but for now I wanted to do a face lift. The bathroom vanity was driving me NUTS! Between the gold paint spilled on it and the awful faux marble veining I was pretty sure I could find something better. I looked and looked for an inexpensive replacement option. Maybe I’m just cheap, but vanities are freaking expensive! In the future I want to put in a double vanity and unless I was wanting to spend our entire mortgage payment on a new vanity I was going to need to find a plan B.

That’s when it came to me. Spray Paint.

Yep, I spray painted my counter tops. And you can too as long as you don’t mind the “are you out of your mind” stares you’ll get when you tell the Wal-Mart employee what you’re planning on using the spray paint for.

Without further ado, here is how I made our counter tops a little less ugly for a lot less than a new one.

Supply List:

1.Ugly Counter top

2. Cleaning Supplies

20151211_130858

3.Wood Filler and Putty Knife

20151211_131825

4. Utility Knife

20151211_134427

 

 

 

 

 

5. Tarp, Paper and Painters Tape

20151211_135514

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6. Spray Paint

20151211_145615

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7. Trim and Touch Up Roller, Polycrylic Protective Finish, and Small Foam Brush

8. 400 Grit Sandpaper

76f5cb06-e784-411c-97e6-4f4834dca74b_400

Start by telling your counter tops goodbye and then remove any caulk around the sink and counter with a utility knife. 20151211_125610After you’ve removed all the caulk you are ready to clean your surface. I started by using comet because it has bleach and some grit to it to really get in any cracks. Then I cleaned the counter with a disinfectant cleaner followed by a wet rag.Then I let the counter dry.

I had gaps between the counter top and the back splash.

If you have the same issue or if there are scratches or dents in the surface, you will need to use wood filler to fill those spots. I used Elmer’s brand because it was the most inexpensive. I used a plastic putty knife to overfill the space so that when it shrunk as it dried I still had enough product there. Let the filler dry.

While the counter was drying I started to tape off the surrounding walls, floor and cabinetry. I used a mixture of paper and plastic tarps because it’s what I had on hand. I used masking tape on the floor because it’s less expensive, but wanted a good seal between the counter and the walls so I used frog tape there. 20151211_144310This seriously took forever, but when I was done and had crisp lines and no clean up, it was worth it. At this point you can sand your wood filler if it has dried.

 

 

20151211_144322

Now the fun begins. Rust-Oleum makes several different stone finish spray paints.rust I chose to use Pebble which has a brown base with black and white specks. You will also need to select a base color for your counter. I wanted more of a beige finish so I used Krylon’s Khaki in a gloss finish.

During this process I was wishing that we had a window in our bathroom so badly! So, my recommendation is open the window before you start spray painting. I kept our bathroom fan running the entire time to try and preserve what little brain cells I already had. Make sure you shake the spray paint can well and then begin by spraying a very light coat of your base color. IT IS SUPPOSE TO LOOK SPLOTCHY! Don’t freak out. Just keep calm. I left my base coat a little more splotchy because I wanted more variation in the finished stone look. This is all based on personal preference.

Let the first coat dry and then add a second coat of the base color.

Once your two coats of base coat are dry it’s time to add the stone. Shake the can well and then begin spraying a light coat of stone finish. I started by spraying the grooves of the counter and around the sink. Then I did the back splash and finished with the large flat areas on the counter. I did it in this order to avoid missing any spots and to keep the spray paint from being too clumpy.

Let your stone finish dry. Once it’s dry gently sand the counter with your 400 grit sandpaper. You want the look of the stone without the raised texture. I wiped my counter with a dry rag after sanding to get rid of any dust. Now you’re ready for your second coat of stone.

I had an incident where I tried to see if the paint was dry and totally smugged the heck out of it. If that happens to you, just wait for it to really be dry and add another coat. This stuff is pretty forgivable. Thank goodness. Once this coat really is dry you need to sand it again. After you’ve reached the finish that you are happy with get ready to seal it with a your Polycrylic protective finish.

I selected a semi-gloss finish, but if you wanted more of a shiny look you could go for high gloss or even matte if shiny isn’t your thing. Before you seal your counter make sure that 1. You like how it looks 2. The counter is smooth to the touch.

Shake the can well and grab your foam brush. I started in in the corners and went around all the edges and around the sink with the brush. Once those were done I used my small trim roller and did the back splash and then the flat portion of the counter. You want to roll your finish in even overlapping strokes and avoid using too much product. You will be doing a second coat so don’t worry if portions of the counter aren’t fully coated.

After your top coat has dried, lightly sand it and then go through with another coat of sealant.

Finish off your project by removing all of your taping and place new caulk (my favorite part of the project) around the sink and edges of the counter top.

Your counter will take a few days to fully cure, so avoid placing heavy items on it. We had an incident with David’s contact solution leaving a white mark while it was still curing. I was a little bummed, but it blends in now.

I wish that my phone camera had done the counters justice, both before and after. It was worth all the time and effort. Can’t wait to hear how your counters turn out and that you love your new counter! For under $40 it’s definitively worth the effort.

David says I should have people pay me to do this….it’s tempting because I seriously loved this project.

ABM_1455592479
Good Luck Spray Painting!

Happy DIY-ing.

– Arin

Leave a Reply

